NYS SUMMER WRITERS INSTITUTE

Summer Program at Skidmore College

 

Each summer during the month of July the NYS Writers Institute moves its program to the Skidmore College campus in Saratoga Springs for a series of creative writing courses and free public readings.

This month-long program features courses in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Students may enroll for either two week blocks or for the entire four week season.

For more information, visit https://www.skidmore.edu/summerwriters/

New information coming in Spring 2020

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Margo Jefferson reading at the NYS Summer Writers Institute at Skidmore College in Saratoga Springs.

Photo by Jim McLaughlin

2019 Public Reading Schedule


All Readings are held in Gannett Auditorium, Palamountain Hall and begin at 8 pm unless otherwise noted.

Admission is FREE and open to the public.  Sponsored in part by the New York State Writers Institute.

Schedule subject to change. Please check the Skidmore College master calendar or call the NYS Summer Writers Institute at 518-580-5593.

Week one

Monday, July 1: Novelist Elizabeth Benedict & Poet Gregory Pardlo  

Tuesday, July 2: Novelist James Hannaham & Memoirist Phillip Lopate

Wednesday, July 3: Panel Discussion: Reading Like A Writer: with Francine Prose & April Bernard

Thursday, July 4: Novelist Binnie Kirshenbaum & Poet Campbell McGrath

Friday, July 5: Novelist Claire Messud & Poet Robert Pinsky

Saturday, July 6: Film Screening & Discussion with Phillip Lopate 

Week two

Monday, July 8: Poet Louise Gluck & Novelist Adam Haslett 

Tuesday, July 9: Novelist Russell Banks & Poet Chase Twichell

Wednesday, July 10: Panel Discussion: The Sense of the Past with Madeline Miller, Adam Braver & Helen Ross

Thursday, July 11: Novelist Mary Gaitskill & Poet Vijay Seshadri

Friday, July 12: Poet Rosanna Warren & Novelist Joanna Scott

Week three

Monday, July 15: Memoirist Margo Jefferson & Poet Peg Boyers 

Tuesday, July 16: Novelist Mary Gaitskill & Poet Frank Bidart

Wednesday, July 17: Panel Discussion: Writing Sex in Fiction with Mary Gaitskill, Garth Greenwell, Daniel Torday & Robert Boyers

Thursday, July 18: Novelist William Kennedy & Fictionist Amy Hempel

Friday. July 19: Novelists Rick Moody & Cristina Garcia

Saturday. July 20: Film screening of "Mr. Klein" (French, 1976, 123 minutes, color, 16mm in French with English subtitles) Note: 7 p.m. start time in Davis Auditorium.

Week four

Monday, July 22: Novelists Garth Greenwell & Dana Johnson 

Tuesday, July 23: Novelists Caryl Phillips & Paul Harding

Wednesday, July 24: Novelist Joyce Carol Oates

Thursday, July 25: Novelist Jamaica Kincaid & Poet Henri Cole

Friday, July 26: Panel Discussion: Democracy & The Age of Trump, with Katha Pollitt, James Miller and Tom Healy