top of page
  • NYS Writers Institute

The Eugene Paul Nassar Poetry Prize

Submissions are open for the Eugene Paul Nassar Poetry Prize, an award of $2,000 given annually for a poetry collection published during the current year by a resident of upstate New York.

The winner will also give a reading and teach a master class at Utica University in April 2025.

Submission Criteria:

Publishers or authors may submit two copies of a book of at least 48 pages published between July 1, 2023, and June 30, 2024, and a curriculum vitae by August 31. There is no entry fee.

Visit the website for the required entry form and complete guidelines.

Additional Requirements:

Winner must agree, upon contest entry:

  • to give permission for portions of the winning work to be reproduced for publicity; and

  • to, at a mutually agreeable date in April 2025, 1) receive the award in person, 2) give a reading at Utica University, and 3) meet with students in a master class.

All books entered in competition will be donated to the Utica University library and the Utica Public Library.

Previous Eugene Nassar Poetry Prize recipients (2012 to present).

Jennifer Grotz, The Needle (2012)

Juliana Gray, Roleplay (2013)

Suzanne Cleary, Beauty Mark (2014)

Laura Donnelly, Watershed (2015)

Adam LeFevre, A Swindler’s Grace (2016)

Lucia Cherciu, Train Ride to Bucharest (2017)

Aimée Baker, Doe (2018)

Benjamín Naka-Hasebe Kingsley, Not Your Mama’s Melting Pot (2019)

Shira Dentz, Sisyphusina (2020)


bottom of page